Inspired by Copenhagen Cycle Chic

Cyclist of the Month: Vitor from Recycled Bicycles

Cyclist of the MonthCyclist of the MonthCyclist of the Month
Please meet Vitor, a Portuguese bike fanatic who owns and runs Recycled Bicycles here in Amsterdam. He grew up in Lisbon  and has been BMX riding since he could pedal a bike. I meet him at his workshop on Spuistraat one rainy day to chat about his shop and his passion for bikes.

How did you end up here in Amsterdam?

I came here for a visit in the early 90s and loved the cycling culture. In ’96 a friend of mine was living here, so I crashed at his place for a month and really got to know the city. I moved here shortly after.

When did you start up Recycled Bicycles?

In around 2002, I was sick of the menial jobs I was doing at the time, tired of working for someone else too. Since I’m a BMX rider I’ve always been around bikes–I love fixing up my own bike and I was already helping out friends too. So I started up the shop to build bikes in 2003. We’ll be celebrating 10 years next month!

Cyclist of the MonthCyclist of the MonthCyclist of the MonthCyclist of the Month

Where do get all the parts of the bikes?

When I opened the shop, I built all the bikes from abandoned parts on the streets.But one day, the police came knocking on my door and told me I couldn’t use the abandoned parts from the street or in the trash–that it’s illegal to go through the trash and take home parts of bikes. So now I have to buy the bikes from the Gemeente, like everyone else. I wish they had a better system for the small businesses like mine; I’m competing with so many larger businesses that have much more money.

What is the bike culture like in Lisbon?

Different from Amsterdam, but growing every day. There are many more people on bikes now–not just for exercise, they are going from A to B. One day we’ll see some fietspad in Lisbon…

Do you have other hobbies besides BMX and building bikes?

I also play bike polo. It’s a tight-knit sport right now, just a small group of us here in Amsterdam play, but it’s gaining momentum. I also want to get more into long-distance riding. I did a ride from Paris to Lisbon, and it was an epic journey. I want to do it again, but on a fixed gear bike this time.

Thank you Vitor! Keep on building those bikes.

by Meredith

Cyclist of the MonthCyclist of the MonthCyclist of the Month

2 responses

  1. Slick Bike, Victor!

    March 28, 2013 at 08:29

  2. Pingback: Recycled Fixed, the movie! | Amsterdam Cycle Chic

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,161 other followers