Inspired by Copenhagen Cycle Chic

Poncho giveaway!

Get ready for the rainy season (here that’s every season) with a bike poncho! Thanks to The People’s Poncho for working with us on this giveaway.

This poncho has it all: slick waterproof shell, sheltering hood with drawstrings, snap clasps at the sleeves, and even handle bar grips to prevent flying away with the wind and rain! There’s a little waterproof zipped pouch for valuables. And the piping is even reflective. Retailing for €75 – but worth every penny.

The only thing you need to do is comment below telling us your favourite thing about biking in the rain.

Comment by Thursday, we’ll announce the winner on Friday!

small print: only open to UK/EU addresses – sorry!

 

Untitled Untitled
Untitled Untitled
Untitled

24 responses

  1. So jealous of all you lucky UK cycle chic riders who can enter for this! Regardless… I love riding in the rain because you feel so accomplished! When you’re dry underneath, it just adds an extra layer of excitement to the ride! And I love knowing that everyone else is looking at me with pity, but secretly I’m having 10 times more fun than them!
    I love the poncho… hopefully I can start a bike poncho trend in Chicago!

    February 15, 2016 at 17:12

  2. My favourite thing about biking in the rain is surprising people! Ride with a huge smile and give people a friendly wave while they grimace in the drizzle. Enjoy it, embrace it, and feel like a hero when you arrive at your destination. Chase that rainbow!

    February 15, 2016 at 17:47

  3. Jared M

    Not open to the US? I’ll pay for shipping and tweet about it!

    I like how my relationship with bike changes like the weather. The cool feeling of splashing through puddles. The sound of water humming between tire and fender. Bar tape changing texture as I hold the handlebars. Braking power changing because to the rim and brake pad lose friction. All the while still smiling and feeling like a child rather than an adult.

    February 15, 2016 at 19:48

  4. Sara Daum

    I love the sound of my tires on wet streets, and the fresh smell of the air! Riding in the rain is lovely. It rains often here, so lots of chances to ride in it. Out I go, on a rainy ride right now! 🚲☔️😍

    February 15, 2016 at 22:11

  5. Paul Cleary

    My favourite thing about riding in the rain is how refreshing it is. I often love getting out of work after sitting in a chair all day and having the rain bring me to life again. It’s also great whizzing by all the traffic that inevitably builds up due to the rain!

    February 15, 2016 at 22:56

  6. Elliot

    Seeing the different ways that people stay dry. Some wear rain pants, some use umbrellas, some just get soaked!

    February 15, 2016 at 23:36

  7. Julie Schack

    The smell of rain … And the collective feeling of having battled nature yet again!

    February 16, 2016 at 08:08

  8. Delphine

    Hoi, when biking in the rain, you are not packed in public transport, you keep your freedom, there are less bikers on the bicycle paths and you are connected to natural elements! If you have a very good equipment such as The people’s poncho, the bike pogies from wobs and plastic boots, no problem, you can ride for kilometers!

    February 16, 2016 at 09:25

  9. Alicia

    I love cycling for the ultimate freedom it gives me to keep my own schedule and not answer to a timetable. Cycling in the rain is freedom mixed with a city soundtrack of beats from the drops of rain and water under your wheels.

    February 16, 2016 at 13:23

  10. Martin

    Knowing that those that are not riding in the rain are not as badassed as you.

    February 16, 2016 at 13:27

  11. Alicia

    I love cycling in the rain because the countryside looks like something from one of the Dutch Masters

    February 16, 2016 at 13:29

  12. I wouldn’t say I love slippery roads and wet clothes sticked to my body, but i have to admit it, biking in the rain is definitely fun!
    Biking in the rain is more challenging, it makes you feel like a superhero, pedaling to reach your final destination. If you are following the rhythm of songs like the Eye of the Tiger, it will make you enjoy even more your own badassity. When you get there, all wet, you look at the rest of the humans feeling the toughest girl on earth.

    My bike and I will be together whatever the weather.

    February 16, 2016 at 17:48

  13. Tha rain is water, water means life, so, why don’t ride with rain!

    February 16, 2016 at 17:51

  14. Ally Menary

    That feeling of being alive as the rain beats down on your face!

    February 16, 2016 at 19:25

  15. Biking in the rain ist pure freedom! When I commute in my rainpants under my waterproof hat it feels like being a real part of nature but in a cosy dry shell. Just with some raindrops on my nose an a smile on my face…

    February 16, 2016 at 20:53

  16. Ally Menary

    It makes you feel alive!

    February 17, 2016 at 13:16

  17. Ally Menary

    Biking in the rain makes you feel alive!

    February 17, 2016 at 13:18

  18. Ally Menary

    The rain on my face makes me feel alive!

    February 17, 2016 at 15:37

  19. Ally Menary

    The rain on my face makes me feel alive.

    February 17, 2016 at 15:40

  20. I just love to bike in the rain! Especially if I have the right clothes on… and I like to feel the raindrops in my face – almost like kisses…

    February 17, 2016 at 17:11

  21. Danel

    This poncho may safe my live! Last time I rode my bicycle in rainy Amsterdam I became SpongeBob… and not the dry version…

    February 18, 2016 at 08:46

  22. I love cycling in the rain in London! Once I stopped at the traffic lights at a junction and a friendly driver saw how soaked through I was in the spontaneous shower and sympathised. We did funny hand gestures complaining about the rain, like a typical British small chat moaning about the weather but with quite comical arm movements. I didn’t mind getting wet at all; it’s like a detox in many ways…the air wasn’t so polluted, my skin felt freshly washed and best of all I was riding faster than usual. It’s like being on a mini adventure that non-cyclists wouldn’t understand, and like the lovely driver, they would feel sorry for you. But personally, I just feel smug during these journeys : ) I’d really love a pretty poncho so I can feel like I’m a flying squirrel whilst biking!

    February 18, 2016 at 20:34

  23. Gonzalo

    Im not really used to bike under the rain! Just arrived to Amsterdam (Which means Im still adapting to the lovely craziness of this bicycle country)

    Biking under the rain is a bit like surfing out of the sea, which makes a surfer like me be happy!

    February 19, 2016 at 09:01

  24. Great Blog! Thanks for sharing with us. Ponchos are very versatile due to the fact that they can serve as excellent overhead shelter and at the same time can be used as a ground sheet.

    April 15, 2016 at 20:45

Leave a Reply

